MHSA Overview

In November 2004, California voters passed Proposition 63, the Mental Health Services Act (MHSA). The MHSA provides for a 1% tax on taxable personal income over $1 million. MHSA tax revenues will be distributed to California counties through a contract with the California Department of Health Care Services (DCHS).

MHSA is focused on transforming the mental health care system by improving quality of life for individuals living with mental illness and those at risk of developing mental illness. MHSA provides funding for outreach, prevention and early intervention, improved access to services, support services, family involvement and treatment for unserved and underserved communities. While providing services in these areas, MHSA adheres to five principles:

  • Cultural Competence – Services reflect the values, customs, beliefs, and languages of the populations served and eliminate disparities in service access.
  • Community Collaboration - Services strengthen partnerships with diverse sectors to help create opportunities for employment, housing, and education.
  • Client, Consumer, and Family Involvement - Services engage clients, consumers, and families in all aspects of the mental health system, including planning, policy development, service delivery and evaluation.
  • Integrated Service Delivery - Services reinforce coordinated agency efforts to create a seamless experience for clients, consumers and families.
  • Wellness and Recovery – Services promote recovery and resiliency by allowing clients and consumers to participate in defining their own goals, so they can live fulfilling and productive lives.

MHSA Program Components

MHSA consists of five components, each of which addresses specific goals for priority populations, key community health needs, and age groups that require special attention. The programs developed under these components draw on the expertise and experience of behavioral health and primary care providers, community-based organizations, education systems, law enforcement, local government departments and agencies, families, and consumers.

The five components are:

  • Community Services and Supports 
  • Innovation 
  • Prevention and Early Intervention
  • Workforce Education and Training 
  • Capital Facilities and Technology Needs 

MHSA Three Year Plan 2023-2026 and Annual Update 2022-2023